Juicing

bje510xl

My mother used to implore me to eat my vegetables. Instead, I would hide them under the rim of my plate and try to sneak out of the house before she cleared the dishes (so, not only was I a junior con artist, but a little sexist as well!).

For the last 4 months, I am averaging 1.2587 juices per day.

Disclaimer one: My very smart and uber-lovely wife made me drink (mostly) carrot juice years ago and I did NOT like it. But at least I didn’t try to hide it and sneak away either.

Disclaimer two: I got excited about juicing BEFORE I saw Fat, Sick, & Nearly Dead. Still, you should see it. A very well done film.

Disclaimer three: That 1.2587 number above is totally made up. I am, however, averaging between 1.0 and 1.5 juices per day. Yes, sometimes I go back for more!

Bold statement of fact: Fresh juice, done well, tastes really, really good. So good, in fact, that even my kids are into it now. (Who knows what else they may be hiding? Or where?)

Here’s my usual recipe:
-12 carrots
-4 giant apples
-healthy chunk of ginger
-1/2 good-sized beet
-2 lemons
-huge wads of kale or chard

Can you imagine how long it would take to sit down and eat all that colorful food? Or how bad your jaws would hurt after?

The results of my tasty, new-found habit are these:

-I feel better. Seriously. My hands (some kind of pre-arthritis condition, I fear) rarely hurt any more. I sleep better. My bowels are happy. And psychologically, having juiced in the morning makes it WAY easier to skip the pastries when I drive-thru Dunkin’ Donuts for a medium coffee with cream.

-My taste buds are happy. Fresh juice tastes really darn good.

-It’s not terribly expensive (the initial investment for your preferred juicing machine can be…but we grow as much of the food as possible and buy the rest in bulk).

-It’s obviously very healthy.

To recap: There is zero downside. Your cells…AND your mother will like you better too.

Leave a Reply

